Whoopi Goldberg, Morgan Spurlock, Jason Blum Among Academy Candidates for Board of Governors Election

Whoopi Goldberg Oscars
David Fisher/REX Shutterstock

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced on Friday the list of candidates for this year’s Board of Governors election, which begins Monday, June 19.

In the actors branch, Geena Davis, Whoopi Goldberg, Edward James Olmos and Rita Wilson will all be vying for a spot on the board. Meanwhile, two directors branch candidates surfaced: Kimberly Peirce (“Boys Don’t Cry”) and Donald M. Petrie (“Welcome to Mooseport”).

A notable exclusion on the executives list was Netflix chief Ted Sarandos, who entered his name for consideration but was passed over for four other candidates: Dick Cook, Daniel R. Fellman, Lucy Fisher and David Linde.


Laura Dern87th Academy Awards, Oscars, Arrivals, Los Angeles, America - 22 Feb 2015

Laura Dern in the Mix for Film Academy President (EXCLUSIVE)

In the producers branch, incumbent Albert Berger was joined by “Get Out” producer Jason Blum, upcoming Oscars producer Michael De Luca and former Academy president Hawk Koch on the ballot. And in the writers branch, Larry Karaszewski (“The People vs. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story”) will be back on the ballot two years after falling to Billy Ray in a run-off and one year after losing to Robin Swicord. He’ll be joined by Aline Brosh McKenna, John Ridley and Dana Stevens.

Other branch contenders can be found below. During the election, Academy members will be asked to vote for one candidate to fill their open branch seat. The election ends on Friday, June 23.

Casting Directors
Kerry Barden
Lora Kennedy
Joseph Middleton
Ilene Starger

Dion Beebe
Russell P. Carpenter
Guillermo Navarro
Mandy Walker

Costume Designers
Judiana Makovsky
Ellen Mirojnick
Isis Mussenden

Rosemary Brandenburg
John F. DeCuir Jr.
Melissa Stewart
Wynn P. Thomas

Kate Amend
Julie Goldman
Morgan Spurlock
Molly Thompson

Film Editors
Dody J. Dorn
Tina Hirsch
Richard Marks

Makeup Artists and Hairstylists
Kathryn L. Blondell
Martin Samuel

Alan Bergman
Charles Bernstein
John C. Debney
Charles Fox

Public Relations
Tony Angellotti
Bruce R. Feldman
Rob Friedman
Christina Kounelias

Short Films and Feature Animation
Darlie Brewster
Edwin Catmull
Bob Kurtz
Thomas R. Sito

Bobbi Banks
Teri E. Dorman
Anna MacKenzie
Mark Mangini

Visual Effects
Richard Edlund
Joe Letteri
Theresa Ellis Rygiel
Bill Taylor

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 7

Leave a Reply


Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

  1. sanityisrare says:

    We all know why “Whoopie” is even mentioned …don’t we???

  2. Sylvia says:

    Whoopi? NO, She is too opinionated,and the fact that she’s in the running is political so she can get up there and make a speech that frankly I’m tired of hearing, What’s wrong with you people? Color shouldn’t have anything to do with the academy or who hosts it. I think you want ro see who’ll make the the most outrageous comment to make the Headlines (Fake News) the next day, Please, Enough! It should be about the actors who are up for the award, Period!

  3. millerfilm says:

    Some of these names are good. But, some are laughable! And, others are clearly only done for reasons of political correctness. There’s a clear reason why fewer and fewer people take anything that the Academy does at all seriously.

  4. Sosgemini says:

    I thought Kaci Lemmons made the short list for director? Is she the closest a woman of color has made it for this category?

  5. Morgan Spurlock Exec Produced unethical film There is no way he possesses sufficient judgement or research ability for the role.

  6. Phyllis Mae says:

    She is a terrible choice. Remember Ted Danson as Al Jolson. She has no decency.

  7. Rita N Hayes says:

    NOT Whoopi Goldberg! She is a traitor. She should not serve on the Board of Directors! I shall not watch the awards if elected. I will ask all my friends to do the same. Let’s make America Great Again! Said we the American people!

More Film News from Variety