Jon Favreau Tapped for Cinema Audio Society Filmmaker Award

Jon Favreau
Masatoshi Okauchi/REX/Shutterstock

“Iron Man” and “The Jungle Book” director Jon Favreau has been selected to receive this year’s filmmaker award from the Cinema Audio Society.

The award will be presented at the 53rd annual CAS Awards on Feb. 18.

“Jon has been a steadfast presence humanizing his storytelling with intelligence and skill,” said CAS President Mark Ulano, who previously worked with Favreau on “Cowboys & Aliens” and the “Iron Man” films. “His light touch continues to produce engaging classics, from ‘Elf’ to ‘The Jungle Book.’ As a director, actor, producer, his ubiquitous creativity continues to entertain millions and makes him a wonderful choice for the CAS Filmmaker Award.”

Favreau’s “Iron Man” received a Cinema Audio Society nomination in 2009.

Previous recipients of the CAS filmmaker award include Jay Roach, Richard Linklater, Edward Zwick, Jonathan Demme, Rob Marshall, Taylor Hackford, Henry Selick, Paul Mazursky, Bill Condon, Gil Cates, and Quentin Tarantino.

Favreau’s latest film, “The Jungle Book,” has topped $966 million at the global box office. He was recently announced as the director of Disney’s “Lion King” remake.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety