John Boyega, Dakota Johnson Vie for BAFTA Rising Star Award

Star Wars Episode VII The Force
Courtesy of Disney/Lucas FIlm

LONDON — “Star Wars: The Force Awakens” star John Boyega, “Fifty Shades of Grey” actor Dakota Johnson and Brie Larson, who is an awards favorite for “Room,” are among those nominated for the EE Rising Star Award, which will be presented at the BAFTA Film Awards.

The other nominees for the award are Taron Egerton, who starred in “Kingsman: The Secret Service” and appeared alongside Tom Hardy in London-set gangster movie “Legend,” and Bel Powley, who was nominated for the Independent Spirit Awards for coming-of-age drama “The Diary of a Teenage Girl.”

Past winners of the award include Tom Hardy, James McAvoy, Kristen Stewart and Will Poulter. Jack O’Connell won the award last year following his performance in Yann Demange’s directorial debut “’71.”

The Rising Star award will be voted for by the public, with voting kicking off tomorrow. The winner will be revealed at the BAFTA Film Awards on Feb. 14.

The jury that selected the nominees included Mike Newell, Olivia Colman, Jonathan Ross, Nina Gold, Lucy Bevan, Gabrielle Tana and James King.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety