Oscars Live Stream 2016: Watch the
Courtesy of ABC

Movie lovers who aren’t near a TV don’t have to miss out on Hollywood’s biggest night.

The streaming options are, however, somewhat limited. Viewers are able to live stream the Oscars via the Watch ABC app or on ABC.com, though it does require a login and password of a TV provider account. This means that those without a pay-TV subscription may want to head to a friend’s house.

Additionally, that live streaming option is only available in certain cities: Fresno, Chicago, Houston, New York City, Los Angeles, Raleigh-Durham, Philadelphia and San Francisco.


Oscars Behind the Scenes at Rehersal

Behind the Scenes at the Oscars Rehearsal

The Academy is offering another Oscars experience with “The Oscars Backstage.” Viewers can partake in a second-screen experience on ABC.com and choose between a director’s cut, arrivals, fashion and red carpet. The experience streams from more than 20 cameras set around the event.

Additionally, for the first time ever, the Academy will be using Facebook to live stream video shot on smartphones before, during and after the show.

Those with a TV can tune into the show starting at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT on ABC on Sunday, when the red carpet kicks off, featuring some of the most glamorous looks from the biggest stars in Hollywood. The ceremony, hosted by Chris Rock, starts at 8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT.

Follow Variety‘s Oscars 2016 awards coverage all Sunday, including a winners list updated live as they’re announced.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 1730