‘Zoo’ on CBS Hopes to Make the Fans ‘Fear Their Schnauzers’

CBS’ summer thriller series “Zoo” could be something the family can watch together — well, most of the family.

“We really want the whole world to fear their schnauzers,” executive producer Scott Rosenberg said of the adaptation of James Patterson’s novel about what happens when animals turn the tables on the humans who have hunted, trapped and terrorized them for centuries.

Rosenberg was speaking during the 13-episode series preview panel on May 18 at the London Hotel as part of studio CBS Television’s summer press day.

Much of the series opted for live animals on set instead instead of CGI. This took some getting used to for actors like Nonso Anozie, one of the series’ stars and also one who wouldn’t describe himself as an animal lover.

James Wolk added that, although he does have a dog, he was “as comfortable as you can feel around an 800-pound grizzly bear.” Scary factor aside, Nora Arnezeder pointed out another drawback of working with live animals: surprise naptimes on set.

Anozie, Wolk and Arnezeder all play characters who appear on Patterson’s thriller, but executive producer Jeff Pinkner stressed that this is an ensemble show with Kristen Connolly and Billy Burke playing new characters.

The event series was first thought to be a film in the vein of “Containment” and “District 9,” but that doesn’t mean it could only be a one-and-done airing.

“We’ve concocted the headlines for five seasons of TV,” said Pinkner.

Zoo” premieres at 9 p.m. on June 30 on CBS.

More TV

  • Netflix placeholder

    Netflix Fires Executive Over Danny Masterson Comment

    CBS’ summer thriller series “Zoo” could be something the family can watch together — well, most of the family. “We really want the whole world to fear their schnauzers,” executive producer Scott Rosenberg said of the adaptation of James Patterson’s novel about what happens when animals turn the tables on the humans who have hunted, […]

  • SMILF Master of None Dirks Gently

    Fresh Voices in TV Who Broke Out in 2017

    CBS’ summer thriller series “Zoo” could be something the family can watch together — well, most of the family. “We really want the whole world to fear their schnauzers,” executive producer Scott Rosenberg said of the adaptation of James Patterson’s novel about what happens when animals turn the tables on the humans who have hunted, […]

  • The Good Fight

    TV News Roundup: 'The Good Fight' Sets Season 2 Premiere Date on CBS All Access

    CBS’ summer thriller series “Zoo” could be something the family can watch together — well, most of the family. “We really want the whole world to fear their schnauzers,” executive producer Scott Rosenberg said of the adaptation of James Patterson’s novel about what happens when animals turn the tables on the humans who have hunted, […]

  • Morning Joe MSNBC Joe Scarborough

    Cable News Ratings: MSNBC Posts Biggest Percentage Gains of 2017, Fox News Stays on Top

    CBS’ summer thriller series “Zoo” could be something the family can watch together — well, most of the family. “We really want the whole world to fear their schnauzers,” executive producer Scott Rosenberg said of the adaptation of James Patterson’s novel about what happens when animals turn the tables on the humans who have hunted, […]

  • SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE: WEEKEND UPDATE --

    'SNL' Names Michael Che, Colin Jost Co-Head Writers

    CBS’ summer thriller series “Zoo” could be something the family can watch together — well, most of the family. “We really want the whole world to fear their schnauzers,” executive producer Scott Rosenberg said of the adaptation of James Patterson’s novel about what happens when animals turn the tables on the humans who have hunted, […]

  • Emmy Awards Placeholder

    TV Academy Announces Rule Changes for 2018 Emmy Awards

    CBS’ summer thriller series “Zoo” could be something the family can watch together — well, most of the family. “We really want the whole world to fear their schnauzers,” executive producer Scott Rosenberg said of the adaptation of James Patterson’s novel about what happens when animals turn the tables on the humans who have hunted, […]

  • Marvel's The Punisher Renewed for Season

    'Marvel's The Punisher' Renewed for Season 2

    CBS’ summer thriller series “Zoo” could be something the family can watch together — well, most of the family. “We really want the whole world to fear their schnauzers,” executive producer Scott Rosenberg said of the adaptation of James Patterson’s novel about what happens when animals turn the tables on the humans who have hunted, […]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content