Blake Shelton & Luke Bryan Among CMT’s Artists of the Year

Blake Shelton Luke Bryan CMT Artist
Rex Shutterstock

CMT’s sixth annual “Artists of the Year” special will honor Blake Shelton, Luke Bryan, Florida Georgia Line, Little Big Town and Sam Hunt, the network announced Wednesday.

Airing live on Dec. 2 at 8:00 p.m. from Nashville’s Schermerhorn Symphony Center, the 90-minute special on CMT — Viacom’s country music and entertainment cable net — will feature musical performances, tributes and toasts to the biggest stars in music, television and film.

Among the five country honorees year, Shelton, Hunt and Little Big Town are being recognized for the first time. Bryan and Florida Georgia Line are returning “CMT Artists of the Year,” being celebrated again for their achievements from the past year.

Past honorees include Taylor Swift, Miranda Lambert, Carrie Underwood, Keith Urban, Kenny Chesney, Hunter Hayes, Brad Paisley, Lady Antebellum and Tim McGraw.

More performers for the CMT special will be announced at a later date.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More TV News from Variety