Seth MacFarlane to Receive Writers Guild Animation Award

Seth MacFarlane Writers Guild Award
Chelsea Lauren/Variety/REX Shutterstock

“Family Guy” creator and writer-producer Seth MacFarlane will receive the 2015 lifetime achievement award from the Writers Guild of America West’s Animation Writers Caucus.

The award will be presented Thursday night at the Writers Guild Theater in Beverly Hills. WGA West Vice President David A. Goodman will host, and Patrick Stewart will present the award.

“It’s great that the WGAW’s Animation Writers Caucus has voted to give Seth this award that values his contribution to the field,” Goodman said. “His unique talent has completely changed the form and raised the profile of the animation writer. From a union perspective, we need to applaud the fact that he ensures all his shows are WGA-covered — he himself employs more animation writers working under a WGA contract than any other showrunner, now or ever.”

MacFarlane became the youngest showrunner in television history when “Family Guy” aired on Fox in 1999. He has won Emmys for outstanding voice-over performance and outstanding music and lyrics.

He also serves as co-creator, executive producer and voice actor on “American Dad,” and executive produced the reboot of “Cosmos: A Space Time Odyssey.”

MacFarlane is also an executive producer on the Starz comedy “Blunt Talk,” starring Stewart and written by Jonathan Ames. The show recently wrapped its first season and has already been greenlit for a second season.

MacFarlane made his feature film directorial debut in 2012 with the highest-grossing original R-rated film of all time, “Ted,” which starred Mark Wahlberg and MacFarlane as the voice of the teddy bear. The film grossed over $545 million worldwide and was also co-written and produced by MacFarlane.

His western-comedy “A Million Ways to Die in the West,” which he co-wrote, produced, directed and starred in, was released last year, while “Ted 2” bowed in June.

Previous Animation Writing Award honorees include Stan Berkowitz, Brad Bird, Alan Burnett, Matt Groening, Al Jean & Mike Reiss, Dwayne McDuffie and Earl Kress, Mike Scully, Patric M. Verrone, Linda Woolverton, Sam Simon and, most recently, Len Uhley.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety