‘The Big Short’ Cast Wins Palm Springs Film Festival Award

The Big Short
Courtesy of Paramount

The Palm Springs International Film Festival has selected “The Big Short” as the winner of its ensemble performance award.

Christian Bale, Steve Carell and director Adam McKay will be present to receive the prize at the festival’s awards ceremony on Saturday at the Palm Springs Convention Center.

“Wall Street greed and its reverberating effects on the U.S. economy offer a modern backdrop for director Adam McKay’s smart and funny film ‘The Big Short,’ adapted from the best-selling book by Michael Lewis,” said Festival Chairman Harold Matzner. “Taking a complicated subject — the 2008 subprime mortgage bond crisis — McKay and his perfectly cast stars weave an engaging comedic story of a group of oddball money managers who see the train wreck coming and conspire to benefit.”

Past recipients of the ensemble performance award include “Argo,” “American Hustle,” “Babel,” “The Imitation Game” and “The Social Network.”

“The Big Short” stars Bale, Carell, Ryan Gosling and Brad Pitt. It won the National Board of Review award for best ensemble and is nominated for four Golden Globes, two Screen Actors Guild Awards and seven Critics Choice Awards.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety