Showtime Doc Follow New Music From

Showtime has announced a new documentary that will follow several of today’s biggest musicians as they create music and an album for 24 recently discovered lyrics written by Bob Dylan.

“Lost Songs: The Basement Tapes Continued” features Elvis Costello, Rhiannon Giddens (Carolina Chocolate Drops), Taylor Goldsmith (Dawes), Jim James (My Morning Jacket) and Marcus Mumford (Mumford & Sons). Dylan penned the lyrics during the summer of 1967 and were originally meant for “The Basement Tapes.”

The documentary will be produced by T Bone Burnett and Sam Jones, who will also direct. The TV special will weave studio sessions into a broader narrative that will incorporate the stories behind the original Basement Tapes.

“Lost Songs” will premiere later this year.

Filed Under:

Follow @Variety on Twitter for breaking news, reviews and more