MIPTV: RTL Group Chiefs Anke Schaeferkordt,
Eric Catarina/Getty Images

Variety's Achievement in International Television Award goes to RTL Group toppers

CANNES — Anke Schaeferkordt and Guillaume de Posch, the co-CEOs of Europe’s largest broadcast network, RTL Group, received Variety‘s Achievement in International Television Award at an exclusive ceremony attended by more than 160 senior TV executives and producers at MipTV in Cannes on Tuesday.

The magazine’s associate publisher, Donna Pennestri, said that the award was given to individuals who had exhibited “leadership, creativity and innovation in the global marketplace.” She added that Schaeferkordt and De Posch were “incredible executives who have exemplified excellence, determination and success.”

Schaeferkordt said that it was a “special moment” for them because “we can share it with you, our business partners and colleagues” at MipTV, “where you can feel the heartbeat of the industry.” She thanked everyone for their “passion and dedication.”

“Everyone knows that television is a team sport, and this is why I want to thank you, and I want to say it is fun working with you. It is also fun working with Guillaume,” she said.

De Posch described his role as co-CEO of RTL Group as a “joint venture” with Schaeferkordt. He said that when they were first appointed to their present positions, some doubted that it would last.

“Everybody told us that it was not in the management books to have co-CEOs, and that it wouldn’t work. Anke and I braced ourselves, and said: ‘Maybe it won’t work, but we’ll try to make it work.’ And I think that most of you will recognize that it has been working, and it has been a great tandem that has brought this group to the level that it is at, with a record year in 2013,” De Posch said.

The reception was attended by more than 160 senior TV executives, producers and distributors with whom RTL Group has worked over the years, including Herbert G. Kloiber, chairman of TMG, Martin Moszkowicz, chairman of the executive board at Constantin Film, Cecile Frot-Coutaz, CEO of RTL Group’s FremantleMedia, and Joe Lucas, executive VP, sales and marketing, CBS Studios Intl.

Other VIPs attending were Samuel Hadida, chairman of Metropolitan Filmexport, Thomas Weymar, managing director of Global Screen, Jan Mojto, owner and CEO of Beta Film, Ruediger Boess, head of acquisitions at ProSiebenSat.1 Media, Rola Bauer, president of Tandem Communications, and Rod Perth, president and CEO of NATPE.

Among key RTL Group executives at the event were RTL Nederland CEO, Bert Habets, RTL Television program managing director, Frank Hoffmann, FremantleMedia North America CEO, Thom Beers, Matthias Schoolten, head of content at RTL Nederland, and Andreas Rudas, executive VP, regional operations and business development, Central and Eastern Europe, and Asia, at RTL Group.

TMG's Herbert Kloiber with the honorees Anke Schaeferkordt and Guillaume de Posch(TMG’s Herbert Kloiber with the honorees Anke Schaeferkordt and Guillaume de Posch)
Variety's Donna Pennestri with RTL's Andreas Rudas(Variety’s Donna Pennestri with RTL’s Andreas Rudas)
UFA's Wolf Bauer and Fremantle's Thom Beers(UFA’s Wolf Bauer and Fremantle’s Thom Beers)
RTL Nederland's Bert Habets, Vox's Bernd Reichart, Chello Multicanal's Eduardo Zulueta(RTL Nederland’s Bert Habets, Vox’s Bernd Reichart, Chello Multicanal’s Eduardo Zulueta)
Matthias Scholten of RTL Nederland with FremantleMedia's Cecile Frot-Coutaz(Matthias Scholten of RTL Nederland with FremantleMedia’s Cecile Frot-Coutaz)
All3Media's Rachel Glaister and Louise Pedersen flank Variety's Celine Rotterman(All3Media’s Rachel Glaister and Louise Pedersen flank Variety’s Celine Rotterman)

(Photos by Eric Catarina/Getty Images)

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0