John Wells to be Honored by American Society of Cinematographers

John Wells
Ari Perilstein/Getty Images

The American Society of Cinematographers has chosen award-winning writer-director-producer John Wells as this year’s recipient of the Board of Governors Award.

Wells will be honored during the 28th annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards gala on Feb. 1 at the Hollywood and Highland Ray Dolby Ballroom.

“John Wells is an extraordinary talent whose long career has exposed the world to superlative cinematography across a wide array of features and television,” ASC President Richard Crudo said.

Over the course of his prolific career, Wells has amassed more than 830 credits. He is the creative force behind many hit shows, such as “ER” and “The West Wing.” Currently, he is the EP on Showtime’s “Shameless.” Shows that have been produced by Wells have earned more than 270 Emmy nominations, with 55 wins.

Wells also served as president of the Writers Guild of America, West from 2009-2011, and previously served as its president from 1999-2001.

The ASC Board of Governors Award is given to an individual who has made extraordinary achievements in advancing the art and craft of filmmaking.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More TV News from Variety