Garry Marshall Tapped for WGA’s Paddy Chayefksy Award

Garry Marshall WGA Chayefsky Award
Jason LaVeris/FilmMagic

Award to be presented Feb. 1

Garry Marshall — the man behind “Happy Days,” “Laverne & Shirley” and “Mork & Mindy” — will receive the Writers Guild of America West’s 2014 Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award for Television Writing Achievement.

The honor will be presented at the Writers Guild Awards’ West Coast ceremony on Feb. 1 at the JW Marriott Los Angeles.

“Garry Marshall’s filmography – from ‘The Joey Bishop Show’ to ‘Happy Days’ – is a virtual history of American television comedy,” said WGA West president Christopher Keyser. “Both of-their-time and timeless, his shows are a gentle, generous, comic mirror held up to late mid-century America. And no one is a finer or funnier chronicler of friendship – male or female (or alien) – than Garry Marshall.”

Marshall created or co-created and executive produced “Happy Days” (1974-84), “Laverne & Shirley” (1976-83), “Joanie Loves Chachi,” “Mork & Mindy,” “Angie,” “Makin’ It,” “The Brian Keith Show,”  and “Hey, Landlord!”

He also developed “The New Odd Couple.” His other TV writing or co-writing credits include  “The Odd Couple,” “The Dick Van Dyke Show,” “The Danny Thomas Show,” “Love American Style,” “I Spy,” “The Lucy Show,” “Gomer Pyle USMC,” and “Bob Hope Presents Chrysler Theatre.”

He has been a WGA member since 1962 and earned a Writers Guild Award in 1967 for co-writing the “Road to Lebanon” episode of “The Danny Thomas Special.” In 1995, Marshall received the WGA’s Valentine Davies Award.

As an executive producer Marshall has earned four primetime Emmy nominations: three for “The Odd Couple” and one for “Mork & Mindy.”

Marshall’s screenwriting credits include “The Other Sister,” “The Flamingo Kid” and  “How Sweet It Is.” He’s also been a specialist in directing romantic comedies including “Pretty Woman,” “Valentine’s Day,” “New Year’s Eve,”  “The Princess Diaries” and its sequel “The Princess Diaries 2: Royal Engagement,” and “Runaway Bride” along with  “Dear God,” “Frankie and Johnny” and “Beaches.”

Marshall also appeared as an actor in “Lost in America,” “Race to Witch Mountain,” “A League of Their Own” (directed by his sister Penny Marshall), “Soapdish” and Keeping Up with the Steins” (directed by his son Scott Marshall).

In 2012, Marshall published his memoir “My Happy Days in Hollywood,” co-written with his daughter Lori. His first book was “Wake Me When It’s Funny: How to Break Into Show Business and Stay There.”

Past Television Laurel Award recipients include Steven Bochco, Susan Harris, Stephen J. Cannell, David Chase, Larry David, Diane English, Marshall Herskovitz & Ed Zwick, and Joshua Brand & John Falsey.



Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More TV News from Variety