Neil Patrick Harris, Rob Marshall Among

“Hedwig and the Angry Inch” topliner Neil Patrick Harris, “Cabaret” choreographer and co-director Rob Marshall,  “Aladdin” genie James Monroe Iglehart and “Rocky” star Andy Karl  are among the performers nominated for the Fred and Adele Astaire Awards, the dance-centric New York stage kudos now in their 32nd year.

Tony nominees Harris, Iglehart and Karl all are in the running for outstanding male dancer in a Broadway show, up against fellow nominee Nick Cordero (“Bullets Over Broadway”) and a slew of hoofers from Cotton Club revue “After Midnight.” Contenders in female dance category include Krystal Joy Brown (“Big Fish”), Gayle Rankin (“Cabaret”) and two “Bullets Over Broadway” cast members, Karen Ziemba and Helene Yorke.

Marshall, meanwhile, competes with fellow choreographers including Susan Stroman (“Bullets”), Casey Nicholaw (“Aladdin’) and Peggy Hickey (“A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder”).

Stage and screen choreographer Pat Birch will take home the Astairs’ lifetime achievement honor, while the veteran dance instructor known as Luigi earns a kudo for preservation of musical theater.

The Astaire Awards, set for June 2 at New York U.’s Skirball Center, are one of a round of legit kudofests that cluster around the Tony Awards. The Lucille Lortels and the New York Drama Critics Circle both recently announced winners, while the Theater World Award recipients were named earlier in the day.

And the 2013-14 Astaire Award nominees are:

Outstanding Male Dancer in a Broadway Show:

Julius Chisholm (“After Midnight”), Nick Cordero (“Bullets Over Broadway”), Virgil Gadson (“After Midnight”), Jared Grimes (“After Midnight”), Neil Patrick Harris (“Hedwig and the Angry Inch”), James Monroe Iglehart (“Aladdin”), Andy Karl (“Rocky”), Desmond Richardson (“After Midnight”)

Outstanding Female Dancer in a Broadway Show:

Krystal Joy Brown (“Big Fish”), Dormeshia Sumbry Edwards (“After Midnight”), Karine Plantadit (“After Midnight”), Gayle Rankin (“Cabaret”), Monique Smith (“After Midnight”), Helene Yorke (“Bullets Over Broadway”), Karen Ziemba (“Bullets Over Broadway”)

Outstanding Choreographer for a Broadway Show:

Casey Nicholaw (“Aladdin”), Susan Stroman (“Big Fish” & “Bullets Over Broadway”), Warren Carlyle (“After Midnight”), Steven Hoggett and Kelly Devine (“Rocky”), Josh Prince (“Beautiful”), Peggy Hickey (“A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder”), Rob Marshall (“Cabaret”)

Douglass Watt Lifetime Achievement Award

Pat Birch

Outstanding Achievement in the Preservation of Musical Theater Award


Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 1