Broadway’s ‘Beautiful’ Wins Chorus Award from Actors’ Equity

Beautiful chorus Equity award

Actors’ Equity Association, the legit thesps’ union, has named Broadway musical “Beautiful” as the recipient of the ACCA Award for outstanding Broadway chorus.

The annual kudo honors a Broadway show for its chorus members’ talents and contributions in the musical. Carole King bio “Beautiful” opened in January at the Sondheim Theater and earned a Tony for Jessie Mueller’s lead performance.

The 16 individual recipients of this year’s Equity award were all part of the show’s chorus during its opening night: Ashley Blanchet, E. Clayton Cornelious, Josh Davis, Alysha Deslorieux, Kevin Duda, James Harkness, Carly Hughes, Sara King, Rebecca LaChance, Douglas Lyons, Chris Peluso, Gabrielle Reid, Arbender J. Robinson, Rashidra Scott, Sara Sheperd and Melvinn Tunstall.

In determining the winning chorus of this year’s award, Equity’s Advisory Committee on Chorus Affairs (ACCA) considered the requirements made by each show’s director, choreographer and musical director, the execution of those requirements and the chorus’ contributions to the overall production.

Past winners of the award have included 2007’s “Legally Blonde,” the 2009 musical “West Side Story” and, last year, “Pippin.”

The ACCA award will be handed out June 17 at Equity’s National Council meeting in New York.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Legit News from Variety