‘National Treasure’ Writers to Receive UCLA Screenwriting Award

National Treasure: Book of Secrets (2007)

The UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television will present “National Treasure” screenwriters Cormac and Marianne Wibberley with the 15th Annual Hunter/Zakin award.

The Wibberleys have also penned “National Treasure: Book of Secrets,” “I Spy,” starring Eddie Murphy and Owen Wilson, as well as “Charlie’s Angels: Full Throttle,” starring Cameron Diaz, Drew Barrymore and Lucy Liu.

The Lew and Pamela Hunter/Jonathan and Janice Zakin Chair Holder in Screenwriting Award was established in 1999 by San Francisco businessman Jonathan Zakin and requires that the recipient teach a 10-week screenwriting seminar at UCLA TFT.

The Wibberleys, who are UCLA alums, will receive the award on May 21 at UCLA TFT’s James Bridges Theater.  There will be a screening of “National Treasure,” with a Q&A to follow.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety