Legendary Options Andrew Pyper’s ‘The Damned’

Legendary Pictures has optioned the film rights to Andrew Pyper’s upcoming novel “The Damned.”

Simon & Schuster will publish in February the book described as an elevated supernatural thriller in the vein of “The Sixth Sense” and “Jacob’s Ladder.”

Legendary’s Alex Hedlund and Tracy Stevens will oversee the adaptation of the project.

Pyper also has written “The Demonologist,” which Universal and Imagemovers are adapting.

UTA brokered the film deal on behalf of Anne McDermid & Associates and the Gernert Co.

Legendary’s upcoming films include cyberthriller “Blackhat,” “Seventh Son” and Guillermo del Toro’s “Crimson Peak.” It also is co-financing Universal’s “Jurassic World.”

More Film

  • Warclow Bridge of Spies

    Amblin Partners Inks Exclusive Music-Publishing Deal With BMG

    Legendary Pictures has optioned the film rights to Andrew Pyper’s upcoming novel “The Damned.” Simon & Schuster will publish in February the book described as an elevated supernatural thriller in the vein of “The Sixth Sense” and “Jacob’s Ladder.” Legendary’s Alex Hedlund and Tracy Stevens will oversee the adaptation of the project. Pyper also has […]

  • Joaquin Phoenix as John Callahan and

    Gus Van Sant's 'Don't Worry' Among First Berlinale Competition Titles to Be Unveiled

    Legendary Pictures has optioned the film rights to Andrew Pyper’s upcoming novel “The Damned.” Simon & Schuster will publish in February the book described as an elevated supernatural thriller in the vein of “The Sixth Sense” and “Jacob’s Ladder.” Legendary’s Alex Hedlund and Tracy Stevens will oversee the adaptation of the project. Pyper also has […]

  • Japan Box Office: ‘The Last Jedi’

    Japan Box Office: ‘The Last Jedi’ Opens Big Ahead of ‘Yokai Watch’

    Legendary Pictures has optioned the film rights to Andrew Pyper’s upcoming novel “The Damned.” Simon & Schuster will publish in February the book described as an elevated supernatural thriller in the vein of “The Sixth Sense” and “Jacob’s Ladder.” Legendary’s Alex Hedlund and Tracy Stevens will oversee the adaptation of the project. Pyper also has […]

  • No Merchandising. Editorial Use Only. No

    South Australia Uncaps Post-Production Rebate Scheme

    Legendary Pictures has optioned the film rights to Andrew Pyper’s upcoming novel “The Damned.” Simon & Schuster will publish in February the book described as an elevated supernatural thriller in the vein of “The Sixth Sense” and “Jacob’s Ladder.” Legendary’s Alex Hedlund and Tracy Stevens will oversee the adaptation of the project. Pyper also has […]

  • Korea's Gang Dong-won to Star in

    Korea's Gang Dong-won to Star in Simon West’s ‘Tsunami LA’

    Legendary Pictures has optioned the film rights to Andrew Pyper’s upcoming novel “The Damned.” Simon & Schuster will publish in February the book described as an elevated supernatural thriller in the vein of “The Sixth Sense” and “Jacob’s Ladder.” Legendary’s Alex Hedlund and Tracy Stevens will oversee the adaptation of the project. Pyper also has […]

  • Korea Box Office: 'Steel Rain' Defeats

    Korea Box Office: 'Steel Rain' Defeats 'Star Wars' to Dominate Weekend

    Legendary Pictures has optioned the film rights to Andrew Pyper’s upcoming novel “The Damned.” Simon & Schuster will publish in February the book described as an elevated supernatural thriller in the vein of “The Sixth Sense” and “Jacob’s Ladder.” Legendary’s Alex Hedlund and Tracy Stevens will oversee the adaptation of the project. Pyper also has […]

  • netflix-the-little-prince

    Mediawan Closes In on Acquisition of Dimitri Rassam's ON Kids & Family

    Legendary Pictures has optioned the film rights to Andrew Pyper’s upcoming novel “The Damned.” Simon & Schuster will publish in February the book described as an elevated supernatural thriller in the vein of “The Sixth Sense” and “Jacob’s Ladder.” Legendary’s Alex Hedlund and Tracy Stevens will oversee the adaptation of the project. Pyper also has […]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content