The Rocket

"The Rocket" receives additional boost

HONG KONG – Kim Mordaunt and his Laos-set charmer “The Rocket” was awarded the Australian Directors’ Guild award for best direction in a feature film.

Mordaunt received the prize on Friday at a ceremony and dinner in Sydney.

The film, which premiered in Berlin in February 2013 has become one of the most rewarded films of the past year. Its awards haul includes a Crystal Bear from Berlin and a trio of prizes from Tribeca in 2013.

The ADG prize for best direction in a telemovie was won by Rowan Woods for “The Broken Shore.”  Rachel Perkins won the award for best direction in a TV drama series for “Redfern Now” (Series 2, Episode 2, “Starting Over”).

The feature documentary award was presented to Sophia Turkiewicz for “Once my Mother.” The film will be released theatrically in Australia in July.
Khoa Do won the award for best direction in the TV mini series for “Better Man” and Geoffrey Nottage won best direction in a TV drama serial for Episode 5713 of “Home and Away.”
Daniel Nettheim received the Esben Storm Award for best direction in a children’s TV program for “Dance Academy” (Series 3 Episode 12, “A Perfect Storm”).
The award for best direction in a documentary series went to Nick Robinson for “Kakadu,” Episode 4 and the best direction in a documentary stand alone award was won by Corrie Chen for “Suicide and Me.”
Matthew Saville won the award for best direction in a TV comedy for “Please Like Me” (Series 1, Episode 3 – “Portuguese Custard Tarts”).
Best direction in a short film was won by Julietta Boscolo for “Sam’s Gold,” best direction in a cross platform project was won by Michela Ledwidge for “ACO Virtual” and best direction in an online project by Sonny Vrebac for “Hunter N Hornet” (Appisode – “Sunbathing”).
The award for best direction in a TV commercial was won by Ray Lawrence for the NSW Teachers Federation’s “First Day.”  Best direction in a music video was won by David Barker for “Nightingale Floor” and Melissa Anastasi received the best direction in a student film award for “By This River.”
Also announced at the ADG Awards was the 2014 recipient of the ‘Finders Award,’ a prize given in conjunction with the Directors’ Guild of America to a film that has yet to secure US distribution, went to Cationa McKenzie for “Satellite Boy.”  

The inaugural ADG ‘Award for Innovation’ was awarded to Australian multi-platform content specialists Hoodlum.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0