Irish Producer Ed Guiney to Receive European Co-Production Award

The Lobster

Producer's slate includes Yorgos Lanthimos’ first English-language film 'The Lobster' (above)

BYDGOSZCZ, Poland — The European Co-Production Award — Prix Eurimages, which honors an individual working in the vanguard of European movie co-productions, will go to Irish producer Ed Guiney.

The award will be presented during the European Film Awards ceremony in Riga, Latvia on Dec. 13.

Guiney co-founded Element Pictures with Andrew Lowe in 2001. Today, Element has offices in Dublin and London, working across production, distribution, and exhibition.

Element has been involved in the production and distribution of more than 30 feature films. Current and upcoming Element productions include Yorgos Lanthimos’ first English-language film, “The Lobster,” starting Colin Farrell, Rachel Weisz, John C. Reilly, Lea Seydoux and Ben Whishaw, “Room,” an adaptation of Emma Donoghue’s novel, directed by Lenny Abrahamson and starring Brie Larson, Joan Allen and William H. Macy, Gerard Barrett’s “Glassland,” starring Jack Reynor, Toni Colette and Will Poulter, and Jerzy Skolimowski’s “11 Minutes.”

Recently completed Element productions include Abrahamson’s “Frank,” starting Michael Fassbender, Maggie Gylenhaal and Domhnall Gleeson, which premiered at this year’s Sundance Film Festival; and Ken Loach’s “Jimmy’s Hall,” a co-production with Sixteen Films, which screened in competition at Cannes this year.

Other films include Abrahamson’s “What Richard Did,” starring Jack Reynor, which opened at the 2012 Toronto Film Festival, James Marsh’s “Shadow Dancer,” starring Clive Owen and Andrea Riseborough, Paolo Sorrentino’s “This Must Be The Place,” starring Sean Penn and Frances McDormand, and John Michael McDonagh’s “The Guard,” starring Brendan Gleeson and Don Cheadle, which is the most successful independent Irish film of all time.

Other credits include Ken Loach’s “The Wind That Shakes the Barley,” starring Cillian Murphy, which won the Palme d’Or at the 2006 Cannes Film Festival, and Peter Mullan’s “The Magdalene Sisters,” which won the Golden Lion at Venice in 2001.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety