‘Gravity,’ ‘Hustle’ Top Winners at Australian Academy Awards

"Gravity" and "American Hustle" honored by

Acad president Geoffrey Rush honors winners at Los Angeles ceremony

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) announced the winners of their third AACTA Intl. Awards Jan. 10 at a ceremony in Los Angeles, with “Gravity” and “American Hustle” each winning two gongs.

The awards recognize cinematic excellence in seven categories: best film, director, screenplay, actor, actress, supporting actor and supporting actress.

The ceremony was hosted by AACTA president Geoffrey Rush, who shared the stage with fellow Australian presenters including Jacki Weaver, Stuart Beattie, Anthony LaPaglia and Yvonne Strahovski.

“Gravity” won best picture, with director Alfonos Cuaron taking the director trophy, while “American Hustle” won for Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell’s screenplay, and Jennifer Lawrence’ssupporting actress role.

Steve McQueen’s “12 Years a Slave” triumphed in the actor categories, with Chiwetel Ejiofor nabbing the actor gong and Michael Fassbender winning the supporting actor honor.

Australian Cate Blanchett recieved the actress award for her portrayal of a New York socialite whose world — and mind — collapse after her husband’s financial crimes leave her penniless in Woody Allen’s “Blue Jasmine.”

“The AACTA Intl. Awards are Australia’s international stamp of screen success,” said Rush. “They recognise our international counterparts, add an Australian voice to international Academy discussion, and celebrate our fellow Australians working internationally.

“I congratulate this year’s AACTA Intl. Award nominees and winners on their compelling and inspiring work and as always I look forward with anticipation to see if our international peers have concurred with the AACTA Intl. Chapter in this year’s Awards season selection.’





Alfonso Cuaron, “Gravity”


Eric Warren Singer, David O. Russell, “American Hustle”


Chiwetel Ejiofor, “12 Years a Slave”


Cate Blanchett, “Blue Jasmine”


Michael Fassbender, “12 Years a Slave”


Jennifer Lawrence, “American Hustle”

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 2

Leave a Reply


Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

  1. Jane says:

    Curious as to why two for Hustle and Gravity are more than the two for 12 Years? Seems three films got the same number of awards, but only two were “top winners”?

  2. Bruce says:

    12 Years a Slave hasn’t even been released in Australia, nothing at all against the film but these a just another Joke awards

More Film News from Variety