Variety Wins More Awards Than All News Outlets at LA Press Club Event

Variety SoCal Press Club Awards Win

Eight kudos include Entertainment Journalist of the Year for Cynthia Littleton

Variety took home more awards than any other news organization in any medium at the Los Angeles Press Club’s SoCal Journalism Awards Sunday night at the Millennium Biltmore Hotel.

In its first year as a glossy weekly magazine, the publication won eight honors for a wide variety of achievements in major categories encompassing feature writing, reviews, commentary and photography.

Cynthia Littleton, Variety’s editor-in-chief, television, was named Entertainment Journalist of the Year at the 56th annual event. Littleton has been a Variety editor and reporter since 2007.

Variety co-chief film critic Justin Chang won two awards: best entertainment review for his “American Hustle” review and best non-political column or commentary for the essay “Why ‘Prisoners’ Is Too Easy on the Subject of Torture.”

David S. Cohen and Andrew Stewart won best entertainment news feature for their cover story on the last days of celluloid film stock, “The End of Film.”

TV columnist Brian Lowry won best feature commentary under 1,000 words for his column, “The Bundle of Joy That Ended My Emmy Streak.”

The Variety staff also won best inhouse or corporate publication for the special Violence & Entertainment issue published after the Sandy Hook shootings. The issue was overseen by Tim Gray, senior VP and awards editor for Variety.

Variety‘s art department, including creative director Chris Mihal, director of photography Bailey Franklin and photographer Platon, won best photo portrait for the photography in the cover story on director Ben Stiller.

Andrew Wallenstein, editor-in-chief, digital, won best headline for a cover story about crowdfunding, entitled “Go Fund Yourself.

By the end of the night, Variety had topped a crowded field of winners with the most awards, including competition from TV and radio outlets. The Los Angeles Times and The Hollywood Reporter came up short, with six awards apiece; radio station KPCC and weekly newspaper Los Angeles Weekly earned seven wins. Other winners included The New York Times Magazine, Bloomberg, KCRW, and Los Angeles Business Journal.

“Winning more awards than any other publication–not just in entertainment news, but news operations of all stripes spanning print, online, radio and TV–is a testament to how far Variety has come,” said Claudia Eller, Andrew Wallenstein and Cynthia Littleton, editors-in-chief of Variety, in a joint statement. “We thank the Los Angeles Press Club for this tremendous recognition.”  

With 28 nominations going into the evening, Variety was also recognized with numerous other honorable mentions across a broad range of categories. A full list of winners can be found here.

Variety’s wins came amid a star-studded evening that included special honors handed out to Maria Shriver, who accepted the Public Service Award for journalistic contributions to civic life; NBC anchor Ann Curry, who accepted the Joseph M. Quinn Award for journalistic excellence and distinction, and former New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg and Bloomberg News editor-in-chief Matthew Winkler for journalistic contributions, who accepted the President’s Award for impact on media. Award presenters included philanthropist Eli Broad, journalist Lisa Ling and LA Press Club president Robert Kovacik.

The SoCal Journalism Awards are determined by journalists representing media organizations across the country instead of the members of the LA Press Club itself in order to ensure “fair and impartial judging,” according to the organization.

Since Variety was acquired by Penske Media Corporation in 2012 and relaunched as a weekly magazine in 2013, it has amassed numerous nominations and awards, including Webby Awards and Maggie Awards.


Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
No Comments

More Biz News from Variety