Jeffrey Katzenberg
Ethan Miller/Getty Images

Jeffrey Katzenberg, Linda Ronstadt, Bill T. Jones, Albert Maysles and John Kander are among the recipients of this year’s National Medal of Arts, which President Obama will present at the White House on Monday.

Also on the list of recipients were novelist Julia Alvarez, writer Maxine Hong Kingston, architects Billie Tsien and Tod Williams and visual artist James Turrell, along with the Brooklyn Academy of Music.

The co-founder of DreamWorks and the CEO of DreamWorks Animation, Katzenberg is being recognized “for lighting up our screens and opening our hearts through animation and cinema. Mr. Katzenberg has embraced new technology to develop the art of storytelling and transform the way we experience film,” according to the White House.

Katzenberg also is among Obama’s most prolific donors, hosting a record-breaking fundraiser for his reelection campaign in 2012 at the home of George Clooney. He also was the key fundraiser for a SuperPAC that supported his candidacy.

The National Council on the Arts, which oversees the National Endowment for the Arts, reviews nominations and sends recommendations to the president, who determines the honorees.

Obama also will present the National Humanities Medal to literary critic M.H. Abrams, historian David Brion Davis, historian Darlene Clark Hine, historian Anne Firor Scott, East Asian studies scholar William Theodore De Bary, architect Johnpaul Jones, filmmaker Stanley Nelson, radio host Diane Rehm, radio host Krista Tippett and the American Antiquarian Society.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 1