New ‘Doctor Who’ Star To Be Revealed Sunday

Doctor Who

The new star of “Doctor Who” will be announced on live TV this Sunday, the BBC has confirmed.

BBC America and BBC1 will broadcast the special announcement beginning at 7 p.m. London time (2 p.m. EST/11 a.m. PST)

The “Doctor Who” actor, whose identity has been kept tightly underwraps, will replace outgoing star Matt Smith.

“I’m incredibly grateful to all the cast and crew who work tirelessly every day to realize all the elements of the show and deliver ‘Doctor Who’ to the audience,” Smith recently said in a statement. “Many of them have become good friends and I’m incredibly proud of what we have achieved over the last four years.”

Smith already filmed a special milestone episode of “Doctor Who” for the 50th anniversary, set to air in November.

Here’s the BBC teaser for the Doctor Who announcement special:

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 1

Leave a Reply

1 Comment

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

  1. Ron says:

    10’s of millions of viewers worldwide disagree…so why post something like this?

More TV News from Variety

Loading