Leslie Moonves, Dick Wolf among TV Hall of Fame inductees

Al Michaels, Ron Howard, Bob Schieffer also set for March 11 event

A network chief, a sports stalwart and a veteran producer are among those to be inducted into this year’s class of the TV Academy Hall of Fame.

Entering the Hall are CBS Corp. chieftain Leslie Moonves as well as the Eye’s long-serving newsman Bob Schieffer, NBC’s “Sunday Night Football” lead announcer Al Michaels, “Law & Order” creator Dick Wolf as well as actor, producer and director Ron Howard. Inducted posthumously will be Philo T. Farnsworth, credited with inventing all-electronic television transmission.

Event will take place March 11 at the BevHilton and be produced by Phil Gurin. Proceeds from the gala will benefit the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation’s Archive of American Television.

Inductees were chosen by the Acad’s Hall of Fame selection committee, which is chaired by Warner Bros. TV president Peter Roth. Others on the committee are Marcy Carsey, Bonnie Hammer, Rick Rosen, Fred Silverman and Nina Tassler.

“Each of this year’s Hall of Fame inductees is incredibly deserving of this honor and is truly a legend of our industry,” said TV Academy chairman-CEO Bruce Rosenblum. “This will be a spectacular evening, rich with stories and reminiscing.”

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More TV News from Variety