Songwriters Hall unveils new class

JD Souther, Aerosmith's Tyler and Perry among inductees

The Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced its 44th class of inductees, with Aerosmith cleffers Joe Perry and Steven Tyler leading a rock-leaning slate.

Unveiled by Songwriters Hall of Fame chairman Jimmy Webb, the inductees will be honored at a June 13 ceremony at New York’s Marriott Marquis Hotel, along with other special honorees yet to be announced.

In addition to Perry and Tyler, Foreigner songwriters Mick Jones and Lou Gramm (“Hot Blooded,” “Cold as Ice”) will join the Hall, along with JD Souther, who penned a plethora of hits for the Eagles (“Heartache Tonight”) and Linda Ronstadt (“Faithless Love”).

Longtime Petulia Clark collaborator Tony Hatch (“Downtown,” “My Love”) will be honored, as will Holly Knight, whose hits range from Pat Benatar’s “Love Is a Battlefield” to Chaka Khan’s “Baby Me.”

“Each of our 2013 inductees has been responsible for captivating the world with their creativity for decades,” said Webb in a statement, “serving up a rich variety of songs for our global soundtrack.”

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0


    Leave a Reply

    No Comments

    Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

    You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

    Connecting to %s

    More Music News from Variety