ASCAP to fete Aerosmith’s Tyler, Perry

Pop Music Awards scheduled for April 17

Aerosmith smongsmiths Steven Tyler and Joe Perry will receive ASCAP’s Founders Award at the performing rights org’s 30th annual Pop Music Awards, the org announced today.

Scheduled for April 17 at the Loews Hollywood Hotel, the awards ceremony will also honor the songwriters and publishers of the year’s most performed songs.

Principal cleffers for the long-running hard rock act, Perry and Tyler have sold approximately 150 million albums worldwide during their four-decade career, winning four Grammys in the process.

As Tyler said in a statement, “It is humbling for Joe and me to be honored for our music alongside the likes of Stevie Wonder, Neil Young, Paul McCartney and Joni Mitchell. It’s been a life-long love affair and it’s far from over.”

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Music News from Variety