Writers Guild of America East Honors Philip V. Pilato of 1010 WINS

Writers Guild Awards

Award to be presented Feb. 1

The Writers Guild of America East has selected Philip V. Pilato as the recipient of its Richard B. Jablow Award for service.

The honor will be presented on February 1 in New York at the 66th Annual Writers Guild Awards. Bob Schneider, the current WGA East secretary-treasurer and the most recent recipient, will make the presentation.

A member of the Writers Guild since 1982, Pilato has worked as an editor and service aide for New York’s 1010 WINS. He was diagnosed with stage two breast cancer in 2009, which he wrote about for CBS New York. Throughout his health issues, he has continued to volunteer for numerous committees and currently serves on the guild’s executive council.

The Jablow Award was established in 1978 to recognize service to the guild.

“Not only is Phil Pilato a skilled news writer and editor, he has devoted an enormous amount of his scarce free time working tirelessly on behalf of his colleagues as a valued member of the Writers Guild East Council and the Guild’s executive committee,” said Michael Winship, president of WGA East. “His name will be a distinguished addition to the roster of Jablow Award recipients.”

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety