Will Rogers’ foundation to fete Kathleen Kennedy

Producer to receive Pioneer of the Year award at CinemaCon

Kathleen Kennedy has been tapped to receive the 2013 Pioneer of the Year kudo from the Will Rogers Motion Picture Pioneers Foundation. Award will be given at the annual Pioneer dinner at CinemaCon in Las Vegas.

The kudo and dinner — a 70-year-old industry tradition — honors leaders of the motion picture industry, as well as the philanthropic community.

“We are extremely grateful that Kathleen will accept this well-deserved honor and help raise funds for the Motion Picture Pioneers Assistance Fund,” said Chris Aronson, prexy of the Will Rogers Foundation and prexy of domestic distribution for Fox. “She is the embodiment of what makes this industry so special.”

Kennedy, an eight-time Oscar-nominated producer, including this year for “Lincoln,” has worked with many celebrated directors, such as Steven Spielberg, Martin Scorsese and Clint Eastwood. She co-founded The Kennedy/Marshall Company in 1992 with producing partner Frank Marshall.

Past Pioneer honorees have included Cecil B. DeMille, Jack Warner, Jack Valenti, Sumner Redstone, Dick Cook and last year’s Jeffrey Katzenberg. Kudo will be handed out in April.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety