Outfest Awards ‘Test’ Top Trophies

Test Movie outfest

'Pit Stop,' 'Vagina Wolf,' 'It's All So Quiet' also win

Chris Mason Johnson’s “Test” (pictured) has won the grand jury awards for U.S. dramatic feature and screenwriting at Outfest Los Angeles, which concludes its 11-day run Sunday.

Story, set in San Francisco in the early days of the AIDS crisis, centers on a young dancer. It’s the second feature for Johnson, who directed and produced 2009’s “The New Twenty.”

The festival’s grand jury award for best actor  went to Bill Heck and Marcus DeAnda for “Pit Stop,” in which Heck’s character is recovering from an affair with a married man.

The grand jury’s best actress award went to Guinevere Turner for “Who’s Afraid of Vagina Wolf?” in which a filmmaker sacrifices her love life for her career.

Nanouk Leopold’s “It’s All So Quiet” took the international award for dramatic feature and the feature documentary award went to Shaun Kadlec and Deb Tullman for “Born This Way.”

The grand jury award for experimental short film went to Zackary Drucker and Rhys Ernst for “She Gone Rogue”; documentary short film honors went to Crescent Diamond’s “Performing Girl”; and the dramatic short film award was won by Leesong Hee-il for “Going South.”

Linda Bloodworth-Thomson won the audience award for documentary feature for “Bridegroom,” three months after winning the same category at the Tribeca Film Festival. The film is based on Shane Bitney’s Crone’s YouTube video “It Could Happen to You,” which explores the aftermath of his relationship to Tom Bridegroom, who died in a 2011 accident before he and Crone were able to marry.

SEE ALSO: ‘The Rocket,’ ‘Bridegroom’ Win Over Tribeca Audiences

Bruno Barreto’s “Reaching for the Moon,” portraying the relationship between poet Elizabeth Bishop and  Brazilian architect Lota de Macedo Soares, won the dramatic feature audience award.

Outfest is now in its 31st year as an LGBT film festival. Its closing night film is Darren Stein’s “G.B.F.,” starring Michael J. Willet, Andrea Bowen, Megan Mullally, Natasha Lyonne, Rebecca Gayheart, Paul Iacono, Sasha Pieterse, Xosha Roquemore and Horatio Sanz.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety