Scorsese exec-produced action thriller set for April shoot

BERLIN — Octane, IM Global’s genre label, will fully finance Hong Kong director Andrew Lau’s “Revenge of the Green Dragons,” which is gearing up to start production this April. Andrew Loo co-directs.

Lau, Stuart Ford, Ara Katz, and Allen Bain and Jesse Scolaro of New York-based 7th Floor Productions will produce.

As previously announced, Martin Scorsese will executive produce. “Dragons” marks the latest link-up between Scorsese and Lau after Scorsese directed Academy Award best picture winner “The Departed,” a remake of Lau’s crime thriller “Infernal Affairs.”

IM Global’s Deepak Nayar and Steve Squillante will also executive produce with Michael Bassick and Artfire’s Art Spigel.

Described as a mix between a Hong Kong action film and a New York crime thriller in the vein of “Mean Streets” and “Infernal Affairs,” the 1980s-set “Dragons” turns on two immigrant brothers who survive impoverished despair in New York by joining the powerful Asian Flushing gang, the Green Dragons. Though they rise rapidly through its ranks, one finally turns on the gang’s leader.

Michael Di Jiacomo wrote “Dragons’” screenplay, adapting Fredric Dannen’s New Yorker article about a murder investigation involving the Asian Green Dragons gang.

Said Ford: “Since I first read Fredric Dannen’s New Yorker article I’ve been riveted by this story. Michael Di Jiacomo’s screenplay is a crackling, kinetic telling of those events and we couldn’t be more excited to be backing the world-class talent involved with bringing this story to the big screen.”

Deal was negotiated between Ford and senior VP business and legal affairs Elizabeth Powell for IM Global, and producers Bain and Scolaro, represented by attorney Iddo Arad at Frankfurt Kurnit Klein & Selz.

Filed Under:

Follow @Variety on Twitter for breaking news, reviews and more
Post A Comment 0