Mel Brooks To Receive AFI Lifetime Award

Mel Brooks AFI Lifetime Achievement Award

Scorsese to present Brooks with honor June 6

Mel Brooks will receive the American Film Institute’s Lifetime Achievement Award at the org’s gala June 6 at the Dolby Theatre.

Martin Scorsese will present Brooks with the honor, in an event that will be televised June 15 on TNT and later, as part of an all-night tribute to Brooks, July 24 on TCM.

“For over 50 years, Mel Brooks has given the world its greatest gift – laughter,” AFI Board of Trustees chair Howard Stringer.  “At the American Film Institute, we also want to shine a proper light on his contributions to the art form as writer, producer, director and actor – and who better to bestow this honor than one of the masters of American film, Martin Scorsese.”

Brooks is a past winner at the Emmys, Grammys, Oscars and Tonys in a career ranging from his work on “Your Show of Shows” to film and Broadway versions of “The Producers” and “Young Frankenstein.”

John Ford won the initial AFI Lifetime Achievement Award in 1973.

AFI Life Achievement Award Recipients
1973             John Ford
1974             James Cagney
1975             Orson Welles
1976             William Wyler
1977             Bette Davis
1978             Henry Fonda
1979             Alfred Hitchcock
1980             James Stewart
1981             Fred Astaire
1982             Frank Capra
1983             John Huston
1984             Lillian Gish
1985            Gene Kelly
1986             Billy Wilder
1987             Barbara Stanwyck
1988            Jack Lemmon
1989             Gregory Peck
1990             David Lean
1991             Kirk Douglas
1992             Sidney Poitier
1993             Elizabeth Taylor
1994             Jack Nicholson
1995             Steven Spielberg
1996             Clint Eastwood
1997             Martin Scorsese
1998             Robert Wise
1999             Dustin Hoffman
2000             Harrison Ford
2001             Barbra Streisand
2002            Tom Hanks
2003            Robert De Niro
2004            Meryl Streep
2005            George Lucas
2006            Sean Connery
2007            Al Pacino
2008            Warren Beatty
2009            Michael Douglas
2010            Mike Nichols
2011            Morgan Freeman
2012            Shirley MacLaine

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 3

Leave a Reply


Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

  1. Holden says:

    FilmBreak is giving away passes to the AFI Red Carpet event for Mel Brooks’ Lifetime Achievement Award here:

  2. tania wisbar says:

    I hope in addition to the wonderful comedies , the more serious works like “Elephant Man ”
    are also recognized as a major contribution .

  3. I love all of Mel brooks films!! I grew up on them. His comedy is genius! Thank you Mr. Brooks!

More Film News from Variety