Malaysia’s Chinese-Language Films Honored by Wau Awards

'Ice Kacang Puppy Love' winner at

'Ice Kacang' biggest winner at first time prize parade

HONG KONG – “Ice Kacang Puppy Love,” a mold-breaking romance, was Tuesday the biggest winner at the Golden Wau Awards.

The new awards ceremony is a symbol of the growing importance of Chinese language in multicultural Malaysia, but where the government supports films in Bahasa-Malaysia language over others.

The event is organized by the Chinese Film Assn. of Malaysia, and loosely modeled on Taiwan’s Golden Horse festival, which similarly culminates in an awards pageant for Chinese-language films.

“Ice Kacang” collected five awards. It was named as best movie, while its star Lee Sinje was named as best actress.

Hit-making Singapore director Jack Neo collected an award as lead actor in Lee Thean Jeen’s 2011 “Homecoming,” while his own 2012 film “We Not Naughty” was named as the most popular Singaporean film.

Best Movie: “Ice Kacang Puppy Love” (2010)
Director: Chiu Keng Guan for “Great Day” (2011)
Actor: Jack Neo in “Homecoming” (2011)
Actress: Lee Sinje in “Ice Kacang Puppy Love” (2010)
Supporting Actor: Jack Lim in “Great Day” (2011)
Supporting Actress: Kara Hui in “The Wedding Diary” (2011)
Theme Song: “We Are Gangster” in “Hantu Gangster” (2012); performed by Namewee (Wee Meng Chee), Ashtaka, Reshmonu, 5 Forty 2; Lyrics by: Namewee, Ashtaka; Composed by: Namewee, 5 Forty 2, Fred Chong
Script: Ryon Lee for “Nasi Lemak 2.0” (2011)
Cinematography: Yong Choon Lin for “Ice Kacang Puppy Love” (2010)
Editing: Victor Wai Tuck for “Ice Kacang Puppy Love” (2010)
Sound Effects: Tu Duu Chih for “Kepong Gangster” (2012)
Original Score: Teng Bee, Stanley Fam for “Kepong Gangster” (2012)
Art Design: Too Wen Huel for “Ice Kacang Puppy Love” (2010)
Image Design: ENW Styling Team for “Petaling Street Warriors” (2011)
Local Non-Chinese Film: “Hikayat Merong Mahawangsa”
Most Popular Local Chinese Film: “The Wedding Diary” (2011)
Most Popular Singaporean Film: “We Not Naughty” (2012)
Pioneer Award: Lai Meng, Hon Ying

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety