Kathryn Bigelow, Jon Avnet, Anne Coates Tapped For AFI Degrees

Honors to be bestowed on June 12

The American Film Institute will confer honoraray doctorate of fine arts degrees upon Kathryn Bigelow and Anne V. Coates and a doctorate of communications on Jon Avnet.

Avnet will be recognized for his contributions to AFI while Bigelow and Coates are being heralded for their “contributions of distinction” to the art of the moving image.

The degrees will be presented during the AFI Conservatory’s commencement ceremony on June 12 at the El Capitan Theater.

Previous AFI honorary degrees have been given to Robert Altman, Maya Angelou, Mel Brooks, Clint Eastwood, Roger Ebert, James Earl Jones, Nora Ephron, Jeffrey Katzenberg, Kathleen Kennedy, John Lasseter, Spike Lee, David Lynch, Helen Mirren, Haskell Wexler and John Williams.

Avnet is an AFI alumnus and serves as vice chair of the board of trustees. His credits as a director, writer and producer include “Black Swan,” “Fried Green Tomatoes,” “Risky Business” and “The History Boys.”

Bigelow is the only woman to win the Best Director Oscar for “The Hurt Locker.” She won AFI Awards for “The Hurt Locker” and “Zero Dark Thirty.”

Coates won the Best Film Editing Oscar for “Lawrence of Arabia” and was nommed for “Becket,” “The Elephant Man,” “In the Line of Fire” and “Out of Sight.”

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety