Jason Blum Producing 'Visions' (EXCLUSIVE)

Greutert directing thriller with fall start

Micro-budget pioneer Jason Blum is seeing “Visions,” coming on board to produce the thriller through his Blumhouse Prods. with “Saw 3D” director Kevin Greutert helming.

Blumhouse bought Lucas Sussman’s spec script and is aiming for a fall start.

Story, in the vein of “The Others” and “What Lies Beneath,” centers on a pregnant woman moving to the wine country to be with her husband at their vineyard — a move which triggers terrifying visions.

Blumhouse recently launched a foreign sales operation at Cannes, selling “Sinister 2,” and comedy thriller “Stretch,” to be directed by Joe Carnahan.

Blum has had major success via the “Paranormal Activity” franchise, launched in 2009, and has four wide-release movies on tap — “The Purge,” with Michael Bay’s Platinum Dunes, which opens June 7; “Insidious Chapter 2,” the sequel to “Insidious,” with FilmDistrict on Sept. 13; “Paranormal Activity 5″ for Paramount on Oct. 25; and “Ghosts” for Lionsgate on Jan. 10.

Gruetert was the editor on the first five “Saw” films and directed the final two. He also directed the upcoming “Ghosts” for Blumhouse.

Greutert is repped by UTA and Anonymous. Sussman is repped by ICM Partners and Bernderspink.

Filed Under:

Want Entertainment News First? Sign up for Variety Alerts and Newsletters!
Post A Comment 0