Singapore’s ‘Ilo Ilo’ Reigns in Taiwan’s Golden Horse Awards

Anthony Chen wins Golden Horse award

Singaporean first time film is surprise winner

Prizes at Taiwan’s Golden Horse Awards, awarded for the year’s best best Chinese language films, were roughly split between Wong Kar Wai’s “The Grandmaster” and Singaporean first-time director Anthony Chen’s “Ilo Ilo.” But “Ilo Ilo” top the top honors.

“Ilo Ilo,” about a Filipino maid’s awkward relationship with her employers during the Asiam Financial Crisis, was named best film, and earned Chen best script and best new director awards, while Yeo Yann Yann was named best supporting actress.

“Ilo Ilo” won the Camera d’Or in Cannes in May and is selected as Singapore’s entry to the foreign language Oscars category.

“Grandmaster” claimed five awards, four in craft categories, and one more for Zhang Ziyi as best actress.

Taiwan’s “Stray Dogs” won two significant prizes in best director for Tsai Ming-liang and best actor for Lee Kang sheng.

2013 Golden Horse Award Winners

Best Feature Film
“Ilo Ilo”

Best Director
Tsai Ming-liang, “Stray Dogs”

Best New Director 
Anthony Chen, “Ilo Ilo”

Best Original Screenplay 
Anthony Chen, “Ilo Ilo”

Best Adapted Screenplay
Li Qiang, “So Young”

Best Leading Actor 
Lee Kang-sheng, “Stray Dogs”

Best Leading Actress 
Zhang Ziyi, “The Grandmaster”

Best Supporting Actor 
Xuejian Li, “Back to 1942”

Best Supporting Actress
Yeo Yann Yannin, “Ilo Ilo”

Best Art Direction 
William Chang Suk-ping and Alfred Yau Wai Ming, “The Grandmaster”

Best Cinematography 
Philippe Le Sourd, “The Grandmaster”

Best Visual Effects 
Pierre Buffin, “The Grandmaster”

Best Action Choreography 
Jackie Chan, He Jun and JC Stunt Team, “CZ12”

Best Original Film Score 
Lim Giong, “A Touch Of Sin”

Best Original Film Song

“I Love You” (music and lyrics by Spark Chen, performed by Sleepy Dads), “Rock Me to the Moon”

Best Makeup & Costume Design
William Chang Suk-ping, “The Grandmaster”

Best Documentary 
“Beyond Beauty, Taiwan From Above”

Outstanding Taiwanese Filmmaker of the Year 
Yeh Ju-feng

Best New Performer 
Shu-yau Kuo, “Step Back to Glory”

Best Sound Effects
Tu Duu-Chih and Kuo Li Chi, “Soul”

Best Film Editing 

Matthieu Laclau and Lin Xudong, “A Touch Of Sin”

Best Short Film 
AMA Prods.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety