Frank Vincent’s ‘A Guy’s Guide’ Movie Being Developed (EXCLUSIVE)

Frank Vincent
Larry Marano/WireImage

Benderspink planning on turning self-help book into comedy

Frank Vincent’s self-help tome “A Guy’s Guide to Being A Man’s Man” is heading for the big screen as a comedy via Benderspink.

Vincent’s book, co-written with Steven Prigge, was published by Berkley Books in 2006, shortly after HBO’s “The Sopranos” ended with Vincent’s Phil Leotardo a dominant character in the final season. The thesp, who portrayed tough guys in “Raging Bull,” “Casino” and “Goodfellas,” dispensed advice on clothing, cigars, wine and talking one’s way into a club, asserting, “If you want to be a big dog, then don’t play like a puppy.”

“Through ‘Goodfellas’ and ‘The Sopranos’ I have been a huge Frank Vincent fan and we saw a great opportunity to turn his self-help book into a great comedy in the vein of ‘Horrible Bosses’ or ‘The Hangover’ with a little bit of Stephen King’s ‘Quitters Inc.’ in there,” said Benderspink principal JC Spink.

The book will be adapted by Adam “Tex” Davis, whose credits include “Just Friends” and Universal’s “Ride Along,” which Benderspink is producing. Benderspink also produced New Line’s upcoming Jennifer Aniston comedy “We’re the Millers.”

Vincent, who’s starring in and co-producing the upcoming reality show “Pawnfellas,” will be playing a part in the film.

Vincent is repped by Melissa Prophet Management Benderspink is repped by Allison Binder at SMGSB.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety

Loading