African-American Film Critics Assn. Announces Honorees for Annual Gala

Bob and Harvey Weinstein

The African-American Film Critics Assn. has announced its list of entertainment professional honorees, ranging from big movie producers to one of Variety‘s own.

Variety chief film critic Justin Chang will receive the inaugural Roger Ebert Award. In addition, Bob and Harvey Weinstein, founders of the Weinstein Co., will be feted with the Cinema Vanguard Award.

AAFCA will also honor the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts & Sciences president Cheryl Boone Isaacs with the Horizon Award, Director Guild Assn. prexy Paris Barclay with the Legacy Award and Fox Searchlight’s senior VP of production Zola Mashariki with the Ashley Boone Award.

The org will announce their actor-actress-filmmaker winners Dec. 13. The ceremony will be held Jan. 31 at the Taglyan Complex in Hollywood.

The AAFCA was established in 2003 and provides support to the next generation of African-American film journalists and filmmakers. The org also honors the top movies of the year, as well as the top people in entertainment with their yearly gala.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 2

Leave a Reply


Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

  1. says:

    Will there be any white entries this year?

More Film News from Variety