WGA sets tribute to Nora Ephron

Ceremony to be held on Feb. 17

The Writers Guild of America East will hold a tribute to the late Nora Ephron at the guild’s awards ceremonies on Sunday.

The tribute to Ephron will be led by Meg Wolitzer, whose novel “This Is My Life” was adapted and directed by Ephron in 1992.

“At this year’s Writers Guild Awards East Coast ceremony, we will mark the passing of one of our most distinguished and creative members,” said WGA East president Michael Winship. “Nora Ephron’s life and body of work were those of a quintessential New Yorker, but not only did she embody the sophistication, wit and energy of our city, she was also a loyal union member who walked the picket line and talked the talk on behalf of all her fellow writers.”

In 2003, Ephron received the union’s Ian McClellan Hunter Award honoring her body of work as a writer in motion pictures.

Ephron wrote or co-wrote 14 produced screenplays and directed eight films. She ws nominated for screenplay Oscars for “Silkwood,” “When Harry Met Sally” and “Sleepless in Seattle”; she also received WGA nods for those films and for “Julie & Julia.”

The WGA Awards East Coast ceremonies will be held at BB King’s in New York City.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety