2013 Student Academy Awards winners revealed

Student Academy Awards

Honors to be presented at June 8 ceremony

The Academy Awards for the world’s up-and-coming filmmakers have been announced.

A total of 16 students from colleges in the U.S. and abroad have been named winners of Student Academy Awards by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Each honoree will be brought to Los Angeles for a week of industry activites culminating in the June 8 awards ceremony at the Academy’s Beverly Hills headquarters. (Free tickets are available but must be acquired in advance.)

Suspense remains for which award-winners in each of the five categories will receive gold, silver or bronze medals.

Past Student Academy Award winners include John Lasseter, Pete Docter, Robert Zemeckis, Trey Parker and Spike Lee.

The 2013 honorees are (listed alphabetically by film title):

“Bottled Up,” Rafael Cortina, Occidental College
“The Compositor,” John Mattiuzzi, School of Visual Arts
“Zug,” Perry Janes, U. of Michigan

“Dia de los Muertos,” Lindsey St. Pierre and Ashley Graham, Ringling College of Art and Design
“Peck Pocketed,” Kevin Herron, Ringling College of Art and Design
“Will,” Eusong Lee, California Institute of the Arts

“Every Tuesday: A Portrait of The New Yorker Cartoonists,” Rachel Loube, School of Visual Arts
“A Second Chance,” David Aristizabal, USC
“Win or Lose,” Daniel Koehler, Elon University

“Josephine and the Roach,” Jonathan Langager, USC
“Ol’ Daddy,” Brian Schwarz, U. of Texas at Austin
“Un Mundo para Raúl (A World for Raúl),” Mauro Mueller, Columbia U.

Foreign Film
“Miss Todd,” Kristina Yee, National Film and Television School, UK
“Parvaneh,” Talkhon Hamzavi, Zurich University of the Arts, Switzerland
“Tweesprong (Crossroads),” Wouter Bouvijn, RITS School of Arts, Erasmus College Brussels, Belgium

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 2

Leave a Reply


Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

  1. rocky caliche says:

    Extremely excited to see that Brian Schwartz’s “Ol Daddy” was nominated. The film’s story line is relevant to today’s social dynamics of Generation Y and Baby Boomers. Wishing much success to Brian and the cast and crew.

  2. John Fenner ( Art Director ) says:

    Fantastic news to hear that MISS TODD won the oscar this year , very well done to all the team at the National Film School here in the U.K great team work. Isona your designs were fab. ! J.F.

More Film News from Variety