Future Animated Film Oscars To Be Shared by Producers

Brenda Chapman — “Brave”

Future recipients of the Oscar for animated feature film will include one producer, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced Monday.

A new tweak to the Oscar rules by the Acad’s Board of Governors reiterated that there would typically be two people honored for each animated feature Oscar, but specified that one would be a producer, alongside the director “and/or key creative individual.”

In the case of a two-person team with shared and equal director credit, the Academy said a third statuette may be awarded.

The most recent animated film Oscar went to “Brave” and its two directors, Mark Andrews and Brenda Chapman.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety