European Film Academy Unveils Several Award Winners

European Film Academy Unveils Several Award

'Great Beauty,' 'Best Offer' among winning films

LONDON — The European Film Academy has unveiled the first winners to be honored at the 26th European Film Awards, which takes place in Berlin on Dec. 7.

A seven-member jury have selected winners in the cinematography, editing, production design, costume design, composer and sound design categories.

Asaf Sudry won the prize for cinematographer, the Prix Carlo di Palma, for “Lemale et Ha’halal” (Fill the Void), from Israel. The jury said the prize was for “his intuitive camerawork, both realistic and poetic, studying the characters with tenderness in an environment unknown to most of us — by sensitively lighting them he provides us with deep insight into their psychology and emotions.”

Cristiano Travaglioli picked up the award for editor for “La Grande Bellezza” (The Great Beauty), which is a Italy/France co-pro, for “editing that continuously stimulates the senses and creates a weave of endless meanings in the storytelling.”

The production designer prize went to Sarah Greenwood for “Anna Karenina” from the U.K. for “production design that acts as if it were a character itself — dramaturgically integrated and contributing essentially to the film’s story and style.”

Paco Delgado won costume designer for “Blancanieves” (Spain/France) for “costume design combining meticulous research of Spanish tradition and craft with the freedom of a gothic fairy tale.”

Ennio Morricone was named as best composer for “The Best Offer” (Italy) “for proving once again his extraordinary capacity of always renewing his style while remaining faithful to the style of the director and the film — a universal composer, indeed, and a true master.”

The sound designer award went to Matz Muller and Erik Mischijew for “Paradies: Glaube” (Paradise: Faith) (Austria/Germany/France) “for creating a sound design, pure and radical — like a music score that transforms every day sound into a composition.”

The members of the jury were Tuomas Kantelinen, composer (Finland); Francesco Ranieri Martinotti, director/producer (Italy); Karel Och, festival programmer (Czech Republic); Simon de Santiago Areizaga, producer (Spain); Herve Schneid, editor (France); Marek Septimus Wieser, cinematographer (Sweden); and Jasmila Zbanic, director (Bosnia & Herzegovina).

Nominations for the other categories — European film, comedy, director, screenwriter, actress and actor — will be announced on Nov. 9 at the Seville European Film Festival. Members of the European Film Academy, more than 2,900 European film professionals, will then vote for the winners. All the awards winners will receive their statuettes at the awards ceremony.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety