Oscar Statuette Placeholder

Three people have been named the first governors of the new casting directors branch at the  Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

David Rubin is elected to a three-year term; Bernie Telsey is elected to a two-year term; and Lora Kennedy is elected to a one-year term.

“The addition of these exceptional professionals to our Board is another positive step toward making our organization more inclusive and more reflective of the broader industry,” Academy president Cheryl Boone Isaacs said in a statement. “We welcome them, their ideas and their insights wholeheartedly.”

The Academy’s 17 branches are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. The addition of the casting directors Branch was approved by the board in July of this year.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 1