‘Ilo Ilo’ Sweeps Vladivostok Festival

'Ilo Ilo' Singapore film

Pacific-Meridian event wraps in Russia's Far East

HONG KONG — Singaporean film “Ilo Ilo” took top honors at the Vladivostok film festival (Sept. 7-13, 2013) as well as a pair of supplementary awards.

The festival — properly called the International Film Festival of Asian-Pacific Countries in Vladivostok, but also known as the “Pacific Meridian” festival – featured a ten film competition section. Additionally there were sidebars on cinema from India, Laos and Russia as well as tributes to veteran Russian director Alexei German and Japan’s Momoru Oshii.

“Ilo Ilo” collected the festival’s Seashell award and $19,000 (Rubles 625,000) as winner of the Grand Prize, while its star Yeo Yann Yann was named best actress and pocketed $7,600. The film about a Filipina maid and the uncomfortable relations with her Singaporean employers during the Asian Financial Crisis was also named best film by a separate NETPAC jury.

Previously, “Ilo Ilo” and director Anthony Chen won the Camera d’Or in Cannes for best first feature. It was also recently named as Singapore’s contender for the foreign-language Oscar.

Other prizes in Vladivostok went to Mexico’s Diego Quemado-Diez as best director for “The Golden Cage;” to Denis as best actor in Russian drama “The Major;” and to New Zealand film “Shopping” and its star Jacek Koman.

“The Butter Lamp” directed by China’s Hu Wei was named as best short film, a prize worth $9,900.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 1

Leave a Reply

1 Comment

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

  1. Mabelle Dennison says:

    The Special Jury Award..to Directors Mark Albiston and Louis Sutherland, Film Shopping, Country New Zealand. accepted on their behalf by Julian Dennison.

More Film News from Variety