Muse recipients named

Hargitay, Liu among winners of femme-centric award

Actresses Mariska Hargitay and Lucy Liu, filmmaker Lisa F. Jackson and We TV topper Kim Martin have been tapped to receive honors in the 32nd annual round of the Muse Awards from New York Women in Film and Television.

NYWIFT also will hand out the annual Loreen Arbus Award, given to industry individuals or orgs whose activism benefits women, to Debra Zimmerman and the nonprofit of which she is exec director, Women Make Movies, which facilitates the production, distribution and promotion of female filmmakers.

Muse kudos celebrate femme achievements across all platforms. Hargitay makes the cut for her 14-year stint in “Law and Order: SVU” as well as for the charity org she founded, Joyful Heart, while Liu, a UNICEF ambassador, is honored for a career that includes her distaff take on Dr. Watson in CBS skein “Elementary.”

Jackson has been making docs for 30 years, with her most recent credit, “Sex Crimes Unit,” airing on HBO. Martin, meanwhile, oversees all activities of We TV and also has expanded the net’s original programming to include shows such as “Braxton Family Values.”

Luncheon ceremony is set for Dec. 13 at the New York Hilton in midtown Manhattan.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More TV News from Variety