Matt Groening wins WGA award

'Simpsons' creator honored for animation writing

Matt Groening, creator of “The Simpsons,” has been selected as the winner of the animation writing award from the Writers Guild of America West’s Animation Writers Caucus.

The caucus will present the kudo to Groening next Wednesday at WGA West headquarters with guild president Christopher Keyser set to attend. The award is given to those who “advanced the literature of animation in film and/or television through the years and who has made outstanding contributions to the profession of the animation writer.”

In 2006, “Simpsons” writers Al Jean and Mike Reiss were tapped for the Animation Writers Caucus Animation Award. Long-time “Simpsons” writer Mike Scully received the caucus award two years ago.

“The Simpsons” has won nine WGA awards since the animation category was introduced in 2003.

Groening received a star on the Hollywood walk of fame earlier this year in conjunction with the airing of the 500th seg of “The Simpsons” on Fox.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More TV News from Variety