‘Horror Story’ eligible as mini for Emmys

ATAS rules say FX series can compete in dual categories

“American Horror Story” will have far less competition at this year’s Emmys.

The Academy of Television Arts and Sciences awards committee and Board of Governors has determined that the series has dual status qualification in the drama and miniseries category. With a much easier path to a nomination, FX will submit the show, as well its actors, writers and other personnel, in the miniseries category.

“American Horror Story” qualifies for a miniseries because the skein is getting a reboot in season two, and subsequent seasons, and ATAS rules state any series which revamps itself every year, in concept and cast, can be eligible as a mini.

Following the show’s season finale, it was determined that leads Dylan McDermott and Connie Britton, as well as Taissa Farmiga wouldn’t be returning for the second season. Those who are coming back include Jessica Lange, Evan Peters, Zachary Quinto and Sarah Paulson.

On the opposite end of the spectrum, PBS recently announced that “Downton Abbey” will shift from miniseries to drama. The move to a drama series is precipitated when, according to ATAS rules, there is an “ongoing theme, storyline and main characters that are presented under the same title and have continuity of production supervision.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More TV News from Variety