Creative take grant for 'Southern Comfort'

Musical theater creatives Julianne Wick Davis and Dan Collins have picked up the 2012 Jonathan Larson Grant for their tuner “Southern Comfort.”

The $10,000 award, administered by the American Theater Wing, was named after the late composer-lyricist of “Rent.” Tuner creatives Mark Hollman (“Urinetown”) and Robert Lopez (“The Book of Mormon”) selected this year’s recipients.

“Southern Comfort,” by composer Davis and book writer-lyricist Collins, is based on the 2001 documentary about a group of transgender Southerners. Show has been developed at Playwrights Horizons and CAP 21 in Gotham.

Past winners of the Larson kudo include Tom Kitt and Brian Yorkey (“Next to Normal”), Chad Beguelin and Matthew Sklar (“Elf”) and Michael Korie (“Grey Gardens”). The 2012 winners are set to be honored in a March 29 presentation that will include excerpts from “Southern Comfort.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0