Kleban names winners

Heisler, Gerle, Schatz pick up hefty checks

Lyricist Marcy Heisler and librettists Andrew Gerle and Matt Schatz have been named winners of the 2012 edition of the Kleban Prize, one of the heftiest musical theater awards at $100,000 per kudo. Although Gerle and Schatz share the award for librettist this year, they’ll nonetheless get $100,000 each.

Heisler, who previously nabbed the Fred Ebb Award in 2009, won the lyricist kudo for credits including the developing tuner version of “Ever After” as well as “Junie B Jones” and “Dear Edwina.” Heisler is a frequent collaborator with composer Zina Goldrich; her tuner “The Great American Mousical,” written with Hunter Bell, bows at Connecticut regional Goodspeed Musicals this fall.

Gerle penned the book to “Meet John Doe,” which played Off Broadway earlier this season and has been nommed for a number of Off Broadway tuner awards this spring.

Schatz, meanwhile, won his book-writer laurel for work that includes the book to “Love Trapezoid.” He also penned the songs heard earlier this spring in short play anthology “Oh, Gastronomy!” at the Humana Festival of New American Plays, as well as play “The Tallest Building in the World.”

Prizes will be presented at a June 18 ceremony at ASCAP in New York City.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Legit News from Variety