WGA East elects 10 for council

Candidates to focus on new-media jurisdiction, compensation

Members of the Writers Guild of America East have elected 10 candidates for its council seats, including six incumbents.

The winners of the seven open freelance seats are: John Auerbach, Walter Bernstein, Gina Gianfriddo, Terry George,  Jenny Lumet, Laura Shapiro and Richard Vetere. Auerbach, Bernstein, Gionfriddo and George are incumbents.

All three candidates up for the three open staff seats were voted in: Arthur Daley, Patrick Mason and Ted Schreiber. Daley and Schreiber are incuments.

Results were announced Friday, the day after the WGA East annual membership meeting.

The WGA East has about 4,000 members.

Candidates in recent elections have focused on new-media jurisdiction and compensation, the key issue during the 100-day strike of 2007-08.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety