Guild to elect eight board of directors

The Writers Guild of America West has announced 15 candidates — including four incumbents — for the eight open slots on its board of directors.

The list, unveiled Monday, included all the names tapped last month by the nominating committee except for two candidates, Zoanne Clack and Patrick Sean Smith, who opted not to run. WGA West board seats are held for two years.

The incumbents include Katherine Fugate, David A. Goodman, Kathy Kiernan and David Shore, who were voted in by members in the 2010 election. Other candidates are John Aboud, Scott Alexander, Alexander Cary, Terrence Coli, Marjorie David, Chip Johannessen, Meg LaFauve, Jordan Mechner, Michael Oates Palmer, Eric Small and Barbara Turner.

WGA members were able to nominate candidates by petition but the deadline passed Monday without any new candidates.

Three other current board members who were voted in during the 2010 election will not be running again. Robin Schiff and Mark Gunn deciding against seeking re-election while board member Aaron Mendelsohn is prevented by term limits from seeking another term.

Additionally, current board member John Brancato — named last year to fill out the remaining year of Christopher Keyser’s term after Keyser was elected president — has opted against running.

Aboud was well known as a strike captain during the 2007-08 WGA strike. Johannessen is a former board member.

The WGA West will host its annual “Candidates Night” town hall forum at guild headquarters in Los Angeles on Sept. 5. Ballots will be counted on Sept. 21.

In last year’s election, members moved toward moderation by electing Christopher Keyser to a two-year term as president by a three-to-two margin over former president Patric Verrone.

The WGA West has about 8,000 members and a participation rate of about 20 percent in elections. The WGA East has about 4,000 members and will also hold its council election in September.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0