You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

WB options ‘The Genius Files’

Studio acquires feature rights to best-selling children's book series

EXCLUSIVE: Warner Bros. has optioned New York Times best-selling children’s book series “The Genius Files” by author Dan Gutman.

Harper Collins has already published two tomes in the six-book sequence. The third novel is skedded to hit stores in January.

Story centers on two pre-adolescent brothers (Coke and Pepsi McDonald) who get into a series of adventures in the name of national security. The brilliant duo keep their activities a secret from their parents, however, as the whole family travels across America in an RV.

Hollywood has adapted Gutman’s children’s tomes before. TNT turned novel “Honus and Me” into the 2004 TV movie “The Winning Season” starring Matthew Modine. Book was described as a cross between “Field of Dreams” and “Big” and centered around a boy who finds a baseball card which transports him back to the 1909 world series.

Observers have described the “Genius Files” books as in the vein of “Spy Kids” and “Agent Cody banks.” Niija Kuykendall will oversee for WB.

Hotchkiss and Associates completed the deal on behalf of Eden Street LLC.

More Film

  • Rampage

    Dwayne Johnson's 'Rampage' Continues to Roar Overseas

    EXCLUSIVE: Warner Bros. has optioned New York Times best-selling children’s book series “The Genius Files” by author Dan Gutman. Harper Collins has already published two tomes in the six-book sequence. The third novel is skedded to hit stores in January. Story centers on two pre-adolescent brothers (Coke and Pepsi McDonald) who get into a series […]

  • No Merchandising. Editorial Use Only. No

    Box Office: 'A Quiet Place' Back on Top, 'Super Troopers 2' Smokes Projections

    EXCLUSIVE: Warner Bros. has optioned New York Times best-selling children’s book series “The Genius Files” by author Dan Gutman. Harper Collins has already published two tomes in the six-book sequence. The third novel is skedded to hit stores in January. Story centers on two pre-adolescent brothers (Coke and Pepsi McDonald) who get into a series […]

  • 'The Night Eats the World' Review

    Tribeca Film Review: 'The Night Eats the World'

    EXCLUSIVE: Warner Bros. has optioned New York Times best-selling children’s book series “The Genius Files” by author Dan Gutman. Harper Collins has already published two tomes in the six-book sequence. The third novel is skedded to hit stores in January. Story centers on two pre-adolescent brothers (Coke and Pepsi McDonald) who get into a series […]

  • Bradley Cooper Robert De Niro

    Bradley Cooper on His Secret Pact With Lady Gaga for 'A Star is Born'

    EXCLUSIVE: Warner Bros. has optioned New York Times best-selling children’s book series “The Genius Files” by author Dan Gutman. Harper Collins has already published two tomes in the six-book sequence. The third novel is skedded to hit stores in January. Story centers on two pre-adolescent brothers (Coke and Pepsi McDonald) who get into a series […]

  • The seagull

    Tribeca Film Review: 'The Seagull'

    EXCLUSIVE: Warner Bros. has optioned New York Times best-selling children’s book series “The Genius Files” by author Dan Gutman. Harper Collins has already published two tomes in the six-book sequence. The third novel is skedded to hit stores in January. Story centers on two pre-adolescent brothers (Coke and Pepsi McDonald) who get into a series […]

  • Verne TroyerStarkey Hearing Foundation Awards Gala,

    Verne Troyer, Mini-Me in 'Austin Powers,' Dies at 49

    EXCLUSIVE: Warner Bros. has optioned New York Times best-selling children’s book series “The Genius Files” by author Dan Gutman. Harper Collins has already published two tomes in the six-book sequence. The third novel is skedded to hit stores in January. Story centers on two pre-adolescent brothers (Coke and Pepsi McDonald) who get into a series […]

  • 'Greatest Showman' Tops Disc Sales Charts

    'Greatest Showman' Tops Disc Sales Charts as 'Last Jedi' Slips to No. 2

    EXCLUSIVE: Warner Bros. has optioned New York Times best-selling children’s book series “The Genius Files” by author Dan Gutman. Harper Collins has already published two tomes in the six-book sequence. The third novel is skedded to hit stores in January. Story centers on two pre-adolescent brothers (Coke and Pepsi McDonald) who get into a series […]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content