You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

WB options ‘The Genius Files’

Studio acquires feature rights to best-selling children's book series

EXCLUSIVE: Warner Bros. has optioned New York Times best-selling children’s book series “The Genius Files” by author Dan Gutman.

Harper Collins has already published two tomes in the six-book sequence. The third novel is skedded to hit stores in January.

Story centers on two pre-adolescent brothers (Coke and Pepsi McDonald) who get into a series of adventures in the name of national security. The brilliant duo keep their activities a secret from their parents, however, as the whole family travels across America in an RV.

Hollywood has adapted Gutman’s children’s tomes before. TNT turned novel “Honus and Me” into the 2004 TV movie “The Winning Season” starring Matthew Modine. Book was described as a cross between “Field of Dreams” and “Big” and centered around a boy who finds a baseball card which transports him back to the 1909 world series.

Observers have described the “Genius Files” books as in the vein of “Spy Kids” and “Agent Cody banks.” Niija Kuykendall will oversee for WB.

Hotchkiss and Associates completed the deal on behalf of Eden Street LLC.

More Film

  • 'The Fortress' Review

    Film Review: 'The Fortress'

    EXCLUSIVE: Warner Bros. has optioned New York Times best-selling children’s book series “The Genius Files” by author Dan Gutman. Harper Collins has already published two tomes in the six-book sequence. The third novel is skedded to hit stores in January. Story centers on two pre-adolescent brothers (Coke and Pepsi McDonald) who get into a series […]

  • Courtesy of Vertical Entertainment

    Film Review: 'Never Here'

    EXCLUSIVE: Warner Bros. has optioned New York Times best-selling children’s book series “The Genius Files” by author Dan Gutman. Harper Collins has already published two tomes in the six-book sequence. The third novel is skedded to hit stores in January. Story centers on two pre-adolescent brothers (Coke and Pepsi McDonald) who get into a series […]

  • Busan: Hong Sang-soo Trio Set for

    Busan: Hong Sang-soo Film Trio Set for U.S. Release

    EXCLUSIVE: Warner Bros. has optioned New York Times best-selling children’s book series “The Genius Files” by author Dan Gutman. Harper Collins has already published two tomes in the six-book sequence. The third novel is skedded to hit stores in January. Story centers on two pre-adolescent brothers (Coke and Pepsi McDonald) who get into a series […]

  • Film Victoria Hires Caroline Pitcher as

    Film Victoria Hires Caroline Pitcher as CEO

    EXCLUSIVE: Warner Bros. has optioned New York Times best-selling children’s book series “The Genius Files” by author Dan Gutman. Harper Collins has already published two tomes in the six-book sequence. The third novel is skedded to hit stores in January. Story centers on two pre-adolescent brothers (Coke and Pepsi McDonald) who get into a series […]

  • “The Gaze of the Sea” vies

    Jose Alvarez’s ‘The Gaze of the Sea’ Vies for the Top Docu Prize at Morelia

    EXCLUSIVE: Warner Bros. has optioned New York Times best-selling children’s book series “The Genius Files” by author Dan Gutman. Harper Collins has already published two tomes in the six-book sequence. The third novel is skedded to hit stores in January. Story centers on two pre-adolescent brothers (Coke and Pepsi McDonald) who get into a series […]

  • TYLER PERRY'S BOO! A MADEA HALLOWEEN

    Film Review: 'Tyler Perry's Boo 2! A Madea Halloween'

    EXCLUSIVE: Warner Bros. has optioned New York Times best-selling children’s book series “The Genius Files” by author Dan Gutman. Harper Collins has already published two tomes in the six-book sequence. The third novel is skedded to hit stores in January. Story centers on two pre-adolescent brothers (Coke and Pepsi McDonald) who get into a series […]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content