WB options ‘The Genius Files’

Studio acquires feature rights to best-selling children's book series

EXCLUSIVE: Warner Bros. has optioned New York Times best-selling children’s book series “The Genius Files” by author Dan Gutman.

Harper Collins has already published two tomes in the six-book sequence. The third novel is skedded to hit stores in January.

Story centers on two pre-adolescent brothers (Coke and Pepsi McDonald) who get into a series of adventures in the name of national security. The brilliant duo keep their activities a secret from their parents, however, as the whole family travels across America in an RV.

Hollywood has adapted Gutman’s children’s tomes before. TNT turned novel “Honus and Me” into the 2004 TV movie “The Winning Season” starring Matthew Modine. Book was described as a cross between “Field of Dreams” and “Big” and centered around a boy who finds a baseball card which transports him back to the 1909 world series.

Observers have described the “Genius Files” books as in the vein of “Spy Kids” and “Agent Cody banks.” Niija Kuykendall will oversee for WB.

Hotchkiss and Associates completed the deal on behalf of Eden Street LLC.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety

Loading